The Mr. Ticket attorneys handle all infraction tickets in the county of San Diego.  We can help you successfully defend your ticket in court.  Our traffic attorneys appear on a daily basis in all San Diego Infraction Courthouses.

 

Reduce Your Fine | Avoid DMV Points | Get Your Ticket Dismissed

An infraction is the lowest classification of a public offense (ie criminal charge).  Under the vehicle code, punishment for a traffic infraction is in the form of license points and fines.

Expertise , Convenience and Experience.

Expertise. We have handled literally thousands of traffic tickets and know what works and what doesn’t. Some people have fought tickets by themselves but were surprised and disappointed when the defense they presented failed. Frustrated, they turned to a professional the next time around.

Convenience. I will make all appearances for you. You won’t need to go to court. If you decide to fight your ticket by yourself, you may need to take time off work. Twice. Once for the arraignment and once for the trial. These appearances will likely take several hours each time.

Experience. 28 years of solely fighting traffic tickets and misdemeanors. Mr. Ticket and his team are the most knowledgeable around and often are used by other attorneys to represent themselves and their clients.

No. We can make all appearances for you and you will never need to go to the courthouse.

Initial consultation is free. If retained, our fee will vary depending on your case. Most tickets will be $99.

Yes. We can fight a photo red light camera ticket even if the pictures and video appear to show a violation. On the day of trial an officer will appear as a witness for the People. This officer will present the People’s evidence against you to the court. This will consist of a package containing photographs, video and supporting documents. There are several sources of legal authority that govern the establishment of photo red light camera enforcement and sections of the California Vehicle Code that authorize the prosecution of individuals with photo red light camera evidence. Taken in conjunction with the California Evidence Code, there are many possible defenses to a photo red light camera charge. We will look at all possible defenses and decide what is best based on the evidence before the court.

Absolutely. There are many possible defenses to a speed trap. Speed traps are defined under Vehicle Code Section 40802 in two different ways. The more common of the two exists when the officer uses radar on a roadway with a prima facie speed limit and fails to meet all of the many legal requirements for this type of enforcement. (Such as providing an engineering and traffic survey in court.) These requirements are set out in Vehicle Code 40802, its accompanying sections, and various case law. Should an officer fail to meet all the requirements, a prohibited speed trap can be established and the case can be dismissed.

If you are a commercial driver, the first course of action to protect your DMV record is to try and get the charge dismissed. The likelihood of this occurring depends on what the charge is and available defenses. If dismissal is not possible, we may still be able to negotiate to keep the point off your record.

Seeking dismissal of the case is always the first course of action. If this is not possible, it may still be possible to negotiate a different charge in order to keep the point off your DMV record.

No. It is both unethical and unwise for an attorney to guarantee that you will win your case. This is because there can never be certainty about the outcome of any particular case. If an attorney guarantees you that he will win your case, run. He is not being honest with you.

Conviction of speed in excess of 100 mph will result in not one but two points on your DMV record. This will most likely result in a large increase in your insurance premiums. In addition, the court may decide to suspend your license for up to 30 days. If there is a prior conviction for speed over 100 mph, the court may suspend your license for up to 6 months.

Where you get assigned for traffic court is determine by where in San Diego County you received your ticket. The officer will give you the traffic court location closest to that area. The location of your traffic court will be checked off or circled on the bottom portion of the yellow citation the officer gave you. It will also be located on the top left corner of the courtesy notice if/when you receive that from the court. There are four different traffic courts in San Diego County: Kearny Mesa, El Cajon, Vista, and Chula Vista.

The court generally sends out a courtesy notice or letter as you get closer to the court date for your ticket. However, the court is not required to send you anything. The date that is indicated on the bottom portion of the ticket is the only notice that is required to be given to you.

If you miss the court date, the court will do two things: (1) impose a civil assessment in the amount of $300, and (2) notify the DMV that you did not appear at court and the DMV will suspend your driver’s license.

If you have old tickets that you never went to court on and recently found out about them or learned they are causing a hold on your driver’s license, you can either pay off the ticket at the court, or you can contest the underlying ticket and the civil assessment for the failure to appear at the court.

If you never went to court on the tickets, you can still set the tickets for trial. The advantage is that as ticket age and get older, the law enforcement agencies often get rid of or purge the tickets. So for old tickets, it is possible the officer does not have any notes for the date set for trial. If that is the case, you win the underlying citation. You still need to deal with the civil assessment and see if the court is willing to reduce that fine. When you appear or have a traffic ticket attorney appear at court on the old ticket it will lift the hold on your driver’s license at the DMV also.

On the other hand, if you went to court and your case was resolved either by pleading guilty/no contest or being found guilty after a traffic ticket trial, you will likely need to pay the amount you owe in order to have your driving privilege reinstated.

No. Some violations are considered points and others are not. It is also true that some traffic violations that count as points could count as two points. Examples of non-point offenses are cell phone tickets, and texting tickets. Examples of two point offenses are driving on a suspended license or driving under the influence.